business men and women speaking together in a group.

Annual General Meeting – Calgary

Hyatt Regency Downtown Calgary – Imperial Ballroom

Saturday April 27th, 2019 – 3 p.m.

It’s that time again! Our Annual General Meeting will take place on April 27, 2019 at 3 p.m.

Because the Optical Summit is being hosted  in Calgary this year, we decided to not include education sessions with our AGM.  It’s important to know that you can still receive education credits by attending the OAC’s Optical Summit.

Annual General Meeting

We are giving our members the opportunity to attend both the Alberta College and Association of Opticians AGM and the Opticians Association of Canada’s (OAC) AGM either in-person or via webinar.

Continuing education credits will be awarded to Alberta Opticians only.  This event is free to attend.

 AGM Registration

Registration will be open from February 15,2019 to April 19th,2019. Go to your My ACAO Profile and click on the Events tab.  You can attend just one AGM or both!

  • Alberta College and Association of Optician’s AGM – 2 EC
    Calgary Hyatt Regency, Imperial Ballroom
    3:00 PM – 4 PM
  • Opticians Association of Canada AGM – 1 EC
    Calgary Hyatt Regency, Imperial Ballroom
    4:00 PM – 5 PM

If you are attending the via the webcast,  the OAC will send your login information to you a few days prior to the event.

Voting at AGM:

  • Voting will be held in-person only.
  • Only Practicing Alberta Opticians can vote at the ACAO AGM and;
  • Only OAC members can vote at the OAC AGM.

AGM Documents:

ACAO Bylaw Amendments:  The Council of the Alberta College and Association accepted amendments to the Bylaws of the College.  These changes were made to comply with the new Bill 21-An Act to Protect Patients.  Changes worth noting or new additions are highlighted in “red” for your reference.

Council Elections:

Voting for council closed on Friday, April 12th at 4:00 p.m. We would like to thank all of the candidates that ran this year for Council. This year we had a record high of 7 candidates running! Three candidates were voted in and will each serve a three year term from 2019-2022. This year we had Dean Thompson re-elected, and two new council members, Christina Logee and Ted Murdoch. Congratulations and welcome to the team!


Student Awards:

  • Joephrey Catapang- Justin Holmes Memorial Scholarship
    Highest Achievement on Practical Licensing Exam Ophthalmic Dispensing
  • Jasvir Benipal – Cecil Oxenbury Memorial Scholarship Award
    Highest Achievement on Practical Licensing Exam for Contact Lens
  • Annette Clavette – Cecil Oxenbury Memorial Scholarship Award
    Highest Achievement on Practical Licensing Exam for Contact Lens
  • Marc Hodgins – Stan Souch Award
    Highest Achievement Year One Optical Sciences NAIT
  • Shareena Wilkins – Highest Achievement
    Second Year Optical Sciences NAIT
  • Jennifer Nurcombe-Richardson – Highest Achievement
    Advanced Practice Contact Lens Program NAIT

Optician Hall of Fame:

This year we will be inducting three talented Opticians into the Optical Hall of Fame.  This ceremony will take place on Saturday April 27, 2019 from 6:00-8:00 p.m. at the Hyatt Regency in Downtown Calgary in the Imperial Ballroom.  There will be free appetizers and a cash bar available.If would like to attend please contact the ACAO to RSVP.

Optician Hall of Fame Induction 2019

2019 Optical Summit:

Cannot Attend in Person?
Optical Summit will also be available via live webcast.