The Mutual Recognition Agreement

a handshake

The Mutual Recognition Agreement makes moving your practice to another province easy…

Are you an optician from another province, planning to move to Alberta? Welcome!

Opticianry regulators across Canada have worked together to establish the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) in order to allow opticians who meet specific criteria to move more easily across the country. Thanks to this cooperation, we know that all opticians from the participating provinces meet the same standards.

Nine of the ten provincial authorities have now signed the MRA: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador.


How It Works

a man shows off the gold star on his shirt

With a letter of good standing, you’re on your way…

If you meet the general registration requirements, and you have a license to dispense either contact lenses or eyeglasses, you can register to practice in Alberta. Registered Opticians from Quebec and Ontario will be accepted as registrants in both eyeglasses and contact lenses.

Opticians from other provinces must complete these three steps in order to practice in Alberta:

  1. Apply for registration with the ACAO
  2. Submit a letter of good standing from the regulatory college in the Province where you are currently registered. The ACAO will begin preliminary assessment of your application.
  3. Once you are approved, you need to pay your fees to finalize the registration process.

It’s that simple!